Stoicism and Virtuous Selfishness

Making Life-Changing Decisions for Ourselves

Kasey Pierce
8 min readMay 17, 2021

Video meliora, proboque, deteriora sequor.
I see better things, and approve, but I follow worse.— Ovid, Metamorphoses

What is the biggest motivator for making life-changing decisions? Why do some people, suddenly, decide to get up and do something about their unhappiness? And why is it that some people sit sighing to themselves on the sidelines, wishing they were those people? What’s separates the bold from the stagnant? Genetics? Priviledge? Fear?

I pondered these questions while I was at the gym the other day. For the past 8 years, weight training has been a part of my morning routine. I reflected on this and asked myself why do you do this?

The answer is a long one, but I was looking for the bottom line. The long answer to this question was that at 27 years old, after failing to squeeze into my size 20 jeans, I made a decision. The decision began with deciding how I felt about being 275 lbs. The options were:

A) Accepting the situation, being content, and carrying on.
B) Changing those things about which I wasn’t happy.

Although I went with change, option B, it wasn’t as simple as all that. If it were an easy choice, everyone would make it.

--

--

Kasey Pierce

Editor of forthcoming “Verissimus: The Stoic Philosophy of Marcus Aurelius” and “365 Ways to Be More Stoic”. Writer/creator of sci-fi comic series, “Norah”.